Say the (Friend) Word

Standard

Say the Word was (and still is) one of my favorite songs. I was listening to it yesterday morning while I waited for the train and realized the song actually has a totally different meaning than I thought it did! Thus, let’s examine the famous Kim Possible song.

kp12

So maybe it’s just because I’ve never seriously thought about this song in any kind of ‘dissecting capacity’ (I’m sorry if that sounds very awkward), but listening to it recently made me realize some things. When I was little, I thought this song was all about how Kim was always there to save the world and was a general badass and all that wonderfulness.

But this song isn’t really about Kim saving the world whenever we say the word. It’s about saving her friends whenever they say the word. Maybe this was just my self absorbed 10 year old brain assuming she was talking about me and the rest of the world, but 20 year old (slightly less self absorbed) me actually paid attention to the words this time and learned something.

world cup omg reaction I know, right? My reaction, too.

Maybe we’re all Kim’s friends, which is why she saves anyone that needs her, but I think looking at this song in another lens, from Kim saving her “friends” in the traditional sense of the word (ie, people she knows), makes it more meaningful.

If you find your world is cavin’ in

You can bet you’re gonna need a friend

Someone to take those fears away

This is friendship. This is what it means to be a friend and this is what it means to have a friend. How many times do we turn to our friends for help and advice, especially when we feel like we’re alone? There’s ‘cavin’ in’ in the literal OMG ROCKS ARE FALLING ON ME FROM THIS DISASTER I AM IN that Kim could probably save you from because she is totally awesome that way. But there’s also an emotional ‘cavin’ in’ when good friends are important and totally help dig you out. And Kim would do that too for her friends. She’s not just a physical hero. She’s a person.

Make a call and I’ll be there

Anytime, anywhere

Have you heard

That I’m all about savin’ your world

All you have to do is say the word

The first two lines of this part of course reference how Kim is always on call when it comes to literal saving the world duties. But again, friends call on each other in the middle of the night, at sometimes the worst possible moment because that’s when they need to. That’s when the cavin’ in happens and you have to be ready.

I think it’s very important that that verse ends with ‘all you have to do is say the word’ because true friendships ask for nothing in return. And Kim isn’t either. Say the word is just letting someone in, admitting you need help. This song is freaking beautiful and profound, okay.

reaction i just have something in my eye

In trouble, in it deep

This is a promise that I can keep

Make it right, count on me

To be the best friend I can be

When your life is bending

Upside down

I’ll be the one to turn it around

What is happening to these people? Caves, trouble, deep, clearly things are in bad shape. Again, these could be literal – and refer Kim actually saving the world –  but they can also be symbolic. Whatever it is, Kim promises to do it. Kim is a class A friend and a class A superhero.

kp ron meeting LOOK AT THESE IDIOTS!

I think this song does a great job of being a tad ambiguous since it can clearly go either way. It represents the show really well.

The show never sacrificed character development for stakes or action. Kim and Ron and everyone else were just as important and so were all the relationships the show created.

Kim’s home life and school life and personal life carried as much weight as the saving the world arc of an episode. So it’s fitting this song is a perfect mix of saving your friends and saving the world.

**Eppp!! So sorry we forgot to post yesterday. This baby was sitting in the draft folder 😦

 

DON’T YOU JUST LOVE THIS SONG???????? CLASSIC.

Follow Animated Meta on Twitter and Tumblr.

Cheers,

M&M

Fangirl Below!

