10 Animated Women That Inspire Us to Epicness: Mic Edition

Standard

To piggyback on the theme Mel started this week, I’ve compiled a list of my favorite animated women. I hope these picks bring back some feels from the past. Let’s go!

Anastasia—Anastasia
Oh, Anastasia, how do I list all the ways I love you? I’m having a hard time trying to figure out how to even describe Anya. I loved the way she carried herself. I loved her rundown clothes, but she was never rundown, no matter what happened. She left the orphanage determined to uncover the mystery of her past and when the chance arose to take a risk and follow a leap of faith, she did.

I loved how she and Dimitri could take turns being the hero. Anastasia is a beautiful film that I will never forget. She got to have flaws and be biased and then have to overcome them to see the real person. She could be afraid and cry and then also be a badass that took out Rasputin.

The Powerpuff Girls—The Powerpuff Girls
This cartoon was one of my favorites. How perfect was it? Three amazing girls kicking ass with sugar, spice, and everything nice. Girls could be physically strong and also be feminine. Girls could be anything they wanted. Blossom was my favorite since she was the leader and I was obsessed with being the leader as a kid (yes, I was called bossy).

tumblr_myg4boTxuZ1tnvfjxo1_500

tumblr_myg4boTxuZ1tnvfjxo2_250tumblr_myg4boTxuZ1tnvfjxo3_250

tumblr_myg4boTxuZ1tnvfjxo4_500

3 guesses and the first two don’t count 🙂

tumblr_motutkFviD1rcm80po1_250tumblr_motutkFviD1rcm80po2_250

tumblr_motutkFviD1rcm80po3_250tumblr_motutkFviD1rcm80po2_250

tumblr_motutkFviD1rcm80po5_250tumblr_motutkFviD1rcm80po6_250

tumblr_motutkFviD1rcm80po7_250tumblr_motutkFviD1rcm80po8_250

Everything that needs to be said about this show is right here.

Sabrina—Sabrina the Animated Series
I wanted to be Sabrina so much as a little girl. She had awesome hair, a great family, and magical powers! She was the coolest ever. Like the Powerpuff Girls, Sabrina was strong and also feminine, frequently sporting pink unabashedly.

tumblr_mwgdtdRYnX1rid30co1_400

Reggie—Rocket Power
We’re gonna stick with TV shows a tad longer. Reggie was also one of my personal heroes. She was the only girl in a squad of boys and just as awesome as them. Her purple hair was just amazing. She was the oldest and the smartest and in control and cool. “It’s not worth winning if you have to cheat,” she once said. Reggie was spouting wisdom and being awesome on a surf board or rollerblades or skateboard with her sunglasses and baggy pants like a boss.

tumblr_nk3tl5ZbsK1ro8ysbo1_540

tumblr_mq6cv0O6cw1rome1po1_500

Esmeralda—The Hunchback of Notre Dame
I feel like we’re following a trend of highlighting women that are both powerful, vulnerable, feminine, and flawed. Esmeralda, like the other women I’ve talked about, is brave and courageous and like Anya, initially lets her prejudice get the best of her. She also has to strip back the layers and look at people in new ways. But on the other hand, she also sees clearly that which others vilify.

hunchback injustice

She misjudged Phoebus, the handsome man most people probably flocked to, but not Quasi, the different looking and mistreated boy. Her song God Help the Outcasts just tells you everything you need to know about.

hunchback i ask for nothing

She cares for others above herself and she’s caught in a world that is supposed to be equal and claims it is, but isn’t. And she fights to make it a reality.

hunchback end

Mulan—Mulan
As a comment pointed out on Mel’s post, Mulan deserves to be on this list. We adore Mulan here at Animated Meta and once I knew Mel left her off her list, I knew she would be on mine. I’ve talked about Mulan before and I could talk about her for all eternity. Just… perfect movie. Mulan is fierce. Mulan shares many qualities with all the women we’ve talked about. I just love that symbolism at the end of the film when she fights the leader of the Huns as a woman, with the fan, uses both her brains and her fighting skills and wins.

mulan

Marina and Eris—Sinbad and the Legend of the Seven Seas
I want to switch gears a little bit and talk about the film Sinbad and the Legend of the Seven Seas. Now, Sinbad is very much about Sinbad and also his buddy Proteus. Proteus and Sinbad were friends, but their relationship suddenly ended when Marina arrived as Proteus’ betrothed. Sinbad took one look at her, fell in love, and fled to a life of piracy to avoid screwing anything up. Marina eventually ends up traveling with Sinbad to save Proteus’ life after Eris causes trouble. Everything make sense? I hope so.

So, Marina? Awesome.

tumblr_msk3t5LlB21qiq8aao1_250tumblr_msk3t5LlB21qiq8aao6_250tumblr_msk3t5LlB21qiq8aao9_250

She’s this princess that, like most of our well-known Disney ladies, wants way more. Before I get into that, I just want to talk about her physically. She’s got short hair and wears pants. How awesome is that? I think basically every princess except like Snow White and Cinderella have had long, luscious locks. And pants on a female character? Like, that’s sadly pretty rare. So right away, Marina’s design pawns all, I think.

She holds her own against a crew of pirates and saves their butts numerous times.

She also gets them into some sticky situations, but she’s not dead weight on this mission. She also acts as Sinbad’s conscience, generally just being smart and amazing and telling him he’s being a cowardly asshole.

tumblr_n2jrqb5eRy1t7i7fyo1_r2_500 tumblr_n2jrqb5eRy1t7i7fyo2_r2_500 tumblr_n2jrqb5eRy1t7i7fyo3_r1_500 tumblr_n2jrqb5eRy1t7i7fyo4_r4_500

tumblr_msk3t5LlB21qiq8aao2_250

On the flip side, we have Eris, the goddess of chaos and discord.

tumblr_mrs9ebtkXL1qiq8aao1_250

I was thinking about my favorite female villains and knew I wanted one on this list. My first thought was Maleficent and she and Eris actually do have some stuff in common. They’re both evil just for the pleasure of it. Eris loves causing trouble. She’s just so wicked and voiced by Michelle Pfeiffer, so yeah, chills.

tumblr_mrs9ebtkXL1qiq8aao4_250tumblr_myq8gbApIg1qbskx5o1_250

tumblr_myq8gbApIg1qbskx5o8_250tumblr_myq8gbApIg1qbskx5o3_250

tumblr_myq8gbApIg1qbskx5o9_250tumblr_mrs9ebtkXL1qiq8aao7_250

I loved her design as a kid, her sleek, dark long hair. I loved how she could grow really tall and then be human size and she was so twisted.

tumblr_mrs9ebtkXL1qiq8aao6_250 tumblr_mrs9ebtkXL1qiq8aao5_250

tumblr_ng0q63RMin1qdhps7o9_r1_250

Just look at her movements, I can’t get enough of it. She’s so creepy.

tumblr_myq8gbApIg1qbskx5o5_250tumblr_mrs9ebtkXL1qiq8aao9_250tumblr_mrs9ebtkXL1qiq8aao8_250

And really, I think the climax of Sinbad is like no other. Eris could not go down easy and she doesn’t. I don’t want to spoil because it’s just a great fun film and really should be seen by more people. Anyway, Sinbad loses, Eris wins and there’s actually a legit amount of time that passes where Sinbad tries to atone for what he’s done. What leads to Eris’ downfall is unexpected.

tumblr_mrs9ebtkXL1qiq8aao3_250

Did I sell this movie enough for you?

A shout out to Dreamworks for giving us Fiona, Astrid, Chel and the great crop of different female characters we’ve gotten. Really, great work.

tumblr_myq8gbApIg1qbskx5o4_250

Sarah—Liberty’s Kids

tumblr_naor6oYeF71sjnkaco3_1280
Liberty’s Kids was the bomb! Sarah was my favorite because she was really the only woman on the show and had awesome hair (and I had a thing for animated hair, clearly). She went through such a great journey on the show, going from a firm English loyalist to supporting the plight of the colonists. She was such an amazing character, a woman with a voice, and the freedom to explore the world and be shaped by it. She was a reporter and always spoke her mind and was amazing.

Misty—Pokemon
Pokemon! Ah, my favorite. Misty, following another trend, was pretty much the one woman among a group of men and was fabulous. Between the original trio, each had a specialization and Misty’s was water pokemon.

tumblr_nkl3rah3zQ1tqptlzo1_500

Like, she first saves Ash’s life and then follows him around demanding he fix her bike that his pokemon ruined. Misty is not here for your crap.

tumblr_nkv6xf8dja1ruyj56o4_250

And clearly she has a temper, as Mel put it to me, which may feed into the redhead stereotype if we want to look closely at that.

tumblr_nkl3zm0Pkp1tqptlzo1_500tumblr_njtqhmcxUB1tqptlzo1_500

Misty also suffered from a lack of confidence in regard to her older sisters and feeling left out but their synchronized swimming group. But the show also had a nice arc for her where we saw her overcome that she felt more secure in her relationships with Ash and Brock and bonds with her sisters. And who can forget the epic ear pulling whenever Brock whenever he got all OMG I LURVE YOU about girls. Best ever.

tumblr_n9t9vxvTJg1tvrv2to1_500

Spring Sprite—Fantasia 2000

tumblr_mzhqfeL4U31qaf3uxo1_r1_400

Perhaps an unconventional pick, but I could talk for hours about this film and the final selection, Firebird Suite, changed my life. I legit used to run around with a shawl as my wings to be the Spring Sprite and bring the forest back to life.

tumblr_nkgksnrAC51tiv24fo8_r1_250

I loved her because she was naive and vulnerable and became depressed when the volcano destroyed the forest,

tumblr_mgqe1hujn51rq6wj9o9_250

but then found the power to restore the beauty, to create life again. I loved her strength and her curiosity. She’s a bit like Ariel, now that I think about it. The way she goes to explore the volcano and awakens it.

tumblr_mgqe1hujn51rq6wj9o5_250

She shares that spirit, the excitement to discover something new. The Spring Sprite was so important to me on so many levels.

tumblr_nkgksnrAC51tiv24fo7_r1_250

Who are your favorite animated women? Do you agree with my list? Who would be on your list? What makes an animated woman “epic?” What qualities do you admire in a character?

Follow Animated Meta on Tumblr and Twitter.

Cheers,

M&M

Fangirl Below!

